livingthewrightway

Living my life the right way!

Got Stinky Workout Clothes?

on March 22, 2016


Ok I know this is gross, but I know I am not the only one who has this problem.  Stinky gym clothes!  Even my daughters have it from track and basketball uniforms.   I try to buy fabrics that are wicking and anti-stink, but I still face the problem of smelly workout gear.  It’s spring break and I try to spring clean my closet and clothes this time of year.  So I set out to find ways to refresh my gym clothes.   I searched all over the internet and asked my friends what they do and here is what I came up with.  This is the first method I have tried and one that I plan to try today when I am spring cleaning my closet.

Method 1

Pre-Soak All Clothes In Water, Vinegar (I didn’t measure it) and Essential Oils (Young Living PurificationPurification Oil).  I let my clothes soak in the sink for a few hours.  Then I threw them in the washing machine with a ½ cup of baking soda and about 4 drops of purification.  I washed them on cold and I did two rinses on my washing machine.  This seemed to get most of the smell out.  After the wash I always hang up my clothes to dry. Never dry your workout clothes in the dryer, this will bake that smell in.  

Method 2

Add 1 cup of white vinegar and 1 tablespoon of baking soda into your washing machine and pre-soak items.  If you don’t have the setting on your washing machine you can do this in the sink too.  If your items still stink you can soak your clothing in your sink with 1 cup white vinegar, 2 teaspoons hydrogen peroxide and 2 teaspoons of baking soda, then wash them in your washing machine with the vinegar and baking soda as mentioned.  

Personally I have tried both methods and I think they both work equally as well.  I like the smell of the purification oil, but if you don’t have it you could use method 2.  I think the key is to not dry your clothing because that causes the smell to bake into your clothes.  I have heard from friends that there are some sport detergents out there, but I have never tried them.  If you have a method you like to use I would love to hear about it.  And if you can’t get the smell out with those two methods it’s time to buy new gym clothes!  Who doesn’t like new gym clothes!  

Leave a Reply

