livingthewrightway

Living my life the right way!

Hill Repeats

on March 3, 2016

Today I started my new training plan for the Sawtooth Relay,  Idaho’s most famous race which is in the beginning of June.  I have a love-hate relationship with hills.  I love them when I am done and hate them while I am running.  Hill repeats are good to incorporate into your training schedule for a variety of different reasons.  It can improve your endurance, power, speed, and helps with your overall strength.  Since my upcoming relay is a hilly run I want to make sure I am ready for it.  Today a group of friends and I got together to run some hill repeats.  We killed it!  Running with friends makes even hills fun!

Here is what we did today:

Warm Up:  1 mile easy
Hill Repeats:  5 x (run up the hill pushing yourself and jog down or walk down).  We had a long hill.
1 Mile Run at a comfortable pace
Cool Down (walk) and Stretching

Here is a link to race information. The scenery is beautiful.  http://sawtoothrelay.com/

Below are some pictures from last years relay.

Coming Soon:  My race training plan.

2 responses to “Hill Repeats

  1. Cathy says:

    hmm, I don’t remember being a part of that training, and I have the biggest hill! 😉

Leave a Reply

