livingthewrightway

Living my life the right way!

Running with Friends

on February 10, 2016

I have always said that running is cheaper than therapy (I think I saw this saying on a T-Shirt).  That is so true.  Today I ran 3 miles with a friend who just started running.  She started a few months ago and she keeps getting faster with each run.  I am so proud of her! We normally follow Jeff Galloway’s run/walk plan and today we did a shorter run focusing on increasing our speed.  We did 3 miles in 28 minutes.  I was glad she was there for me mentally and I am glad I got the chance to push her a bit too.  My tips for new runners are to find a plan that you like and use it.  Don’t feel intimidated.  When I first started running I could barely run 1 mile and so I quit.  Now I am totally addicted to running especially with friends.  Find a friend to run with who can help you or push you when you need it.  If you don’t have a friend find a local running group.  Most running shoe stores can connect you with a running group.  Keep track of those miles.  This shows your accomplishment and can be a form of motivation.  Sign up for a short race to have a goal.  And most of all just go out for a run and enjoy it.  Don’t get too mental.  So go out for a run with a friend and enjoy it! 

back up Nov 2015 080

A few of my friends I run with.  They are so awesome!

Leave a Reply

